top of page

Queen of Roses by Briar Boleyn


๐Ÿฅ€ ๐—ค๐˜‚๐—ฒ๐—ฒ๐—ป ๐—ผ๐—ณ ๐—ฅ๐—ผ๐˜€๐—ฒ๐˜€๐Ÿฅ€

๐˜ฃ๐˜บ ๐˜‰๐˜ณ๐˜ช๐˜ข๐˜ณ ๐˜‰๐˜ฐ๐˜ญ๐˜ฆ๐˜บ๐˜ฏ

(๐˜‰๐˜ญ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฐ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฐ๐˜ง ๐˜ข ๐˜๐˜ข๐˜ฆ # 1)


โ˜… โ˜… โ˜… โ˜…

๐ŸŒถ


Description:


A doomed love, a dangerous mission, and a kingdom on the brink of war...

A cast-off princessโ€ฆ


Born into a life of duty and sacrifice, Morgan Pendragonโ€™s destiny has never been her own. Rumored to carry the tainted blood of the fae in her veins, her birthright is stolen from her when she is a mere child. Growing up in the shadow of her brother the king, she has been promised to the goddesses when she comes of age. So, when her brother commands that she seek out a fae weapon of legendary power, Morgan seizes the chance to break free from the chains of her fate.


A dangerous temptationโ€ฆ


As she travels, Morgan finds herself drawn into a strange group of outcasts, led by a dark and enigmatic warrior whose sharp wit and fierce beauty set her heart ablaze. But while Morgan struggles to reconcile her desires with her duty, she and her new comrades discover dangers that await them beyond anything in their wildest nightmares.


A slumbering kingdom awoken by bloodโ€ฆ


Believed to have vanished generations ago, a fae kingdom dreaded by mortals is ascending once more, bound to reclaim what was lost by violence and bloodshed. As the fae world, with its intricate web of lies and mysteries, is slowly revealed to Morgan, she is led to the terrible realization that the secrets she carries in her blood make her a greater threat than she could ever have imagined.


The first in an action-packed new series brimming with magic, danger, and spellbinding slow-burn romance, Queen of Roses is perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Sarah J. Maas.



My Opinion:


Big thanks to Starwater Press, Briar Boleyn and NetGalley for a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinions.


This was a great first in a series for a fantasy Arthurian-based tale! I loved the modern edge that the author gave this tale as well as the fae twist that was included (because we all know how popular fae books are right now).


This one did take me a minute to get into with all the world-building that was going on. The MC Morgan was interesting but I do wish that she would have been a little more spunky in a sense. She was all for fighting and learning how to fight - but then at the same time she was so timid and mild when it came to listening to every word that her brother said. There were plenty of times where she could have stood up for herself (ex. the medicine) and she didn't, but then other things she did in secret.


This was said to be a dark fantasy fae series and while I feel this is just the beginning, don't expect much darkness or steaminess in this one. Think of this book as a big setup for the real plot (which is what I am hoping this one was).


Once I hit about the 65% mark, I was hooked. Real action started to happen and things were heating up. I definitely know I want more Draven (especially with that cliffhanger ending).


Definitely a 3.5โญ๏ธ book rounded up to 4โญ๏ธ. I look forward to diving into the next one and I hope it picks up from there. I love where it seems to be heading and I cannot wait for the promise of more fae steamy dark fantasy/romance action.


โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”โ€”


๐Ÿ’ฌ ๐—ค๐—ข๐—ง๐——: ๐——๐—ผ ๐˜†๐—ผ๐˜‚ ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐—ฎ๐—ฑ ๐—ฎ ๐—บ๐—ถ๐˜… ๐—ผ๐—ณ ๐—ด๐—ฒ๐—ป๐—ฟ๐—ฒ๐˜€ ๐—ผ๐—ฟ ๐—ผ๐—ป๐—น๐˜† ๐—ท๐˜‚๐˜€๐˜ ๐—ฎ ๐—ณ๐—ฒ๐˜„?


๐˜ ๐˜ธ๐˜ช๐˜ญ๐˜ญ ๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ๐˜ข๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฃ๐˜ข๐˜ด๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ข๐˜ญ๐˜ญ๐˜บ ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜บ๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ช๐˜ฏ๐˜จ ๐˜ฃ๐˜ถ๐˜ต ๐˜ด๐˜ค๐˜ช-๐˜ง๐˜ช ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฉ๐˜ช๐˜ด๐˜ต๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ข๐˜ญ ๐˜ง๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ ๐˜ข๐˜ณ๐˜ฆ ๐˜ฎ๐˜บ ๐˜ญ๐˜ฆ๐˜ข๐˜ด๐˜ต ๐˜ง๐˜ข๐˜ท๐˜ฆ๐˜ด. ๐˜Œ๐˜ด๐˜ฑ๐˜ฆ๐˜ค๐˜ช๐˜ข๐˜ญ๐˜ญ๐˜บ ๐˜ช๐˜ง ๐˜ช๐˜ต'๐˜ด ๐˜ด๐˜ฑ๐˜ข๐˜ค๐˜ฆ-๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ด๐˜ค๐˜ช-๐˜ง๐˜ช ๐˜ข๐˜ฏ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ž๐˜ž๐˜๐˜-๐˜ต๐˜ฉ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฎ๐˜ฆ๐˜ฅ ๐˜ฉ๐˜ช๐˜ด๐˜ต๐˜ฐ๐˜ณ๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ข๐˜ญ ๐˜ง๐˜ช๐˜ค๐˜ต๐˜ช๐˜ฐ๐˜ฏ.

Screen Shot 2022-04-06 at 6.47.02 PM.png

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Want to know more about me and my favorite kinds of books? Check out my About page.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page